Mission Crossroads

SPR 2018

Mission Crossroads is a three-time-a-year magazine focused on worldwide work of the PC(USA). It offers news and feature stories about mission personnel, international partners and grassroots Presbyterians involved in God's mission in the world.

Issue link: https://missioncrossroads.epubxp.com/i/932333

Contents of this Issue

Navigation

Page 4 of 23

Mission Crossroads 3 year, the YAV program expanded to include both U.S. and international sites, and has since offered service opportunities in 45 different sites in 19 countries. Other elements have remained central in the YAV program through the years. From the program's beginning, YAVs were sent out in groups, recognizing that the work of loving challenge and personal development happens best in community and is not a solo pursuit. Core values of simple living and cross- cultural mission were present from the start. e YAV experience has always had a strong leaning to examine the root causes of injustice and inequality in our world, while finding the ways that God continues to create and strive for more just, whole and loving systems of culture, economics and governance. e YAV program continues to grow and find new ways that God is calling and equipping people to live abundant, transformative lives. While it has historically served white, dominant-culture candidates, today's YAV program is increasingly focused on serving candidates of color, as well as those from non-privileged backgrounds, inviting them into unique and authentic processes of vocational discernment and development of their leadership potential. e YAV program continues to stress a global vision for God's mission, not bound by national borders, inviting all persons to consider all the ways we can be involved in God's mission, from serving and being in relationship with partners across the globe and across the street. e YAV program has a long track record of inviting young adults into a yearlong season of asking deep questions, exploring their calling and living into their personal faith story. e YAV staff and site coordinators continue in this tradition of holy partnership, mutual learning and investment in the formation of cross-cultural mission leaders that our church and world so urgently need. The Rev. Richard Williams, director of the Young Adult Volunteer program, is also a YAV alum (Philippines, 1999–2000 and Nashville, 2000–01). Blake Collins Associate for Recruitment and Relationships 502-528-5936 blake.collins@pcusa.org Lynne Foreman Mission Engagement Advisor Mission Engagement and Support 502-526-7164 lynne.foreman@pcusa.org Lydia Kim Associate for Administration 800-728-7228, ext. 5024 lydia.kim@pcusa.org Bridgette Lewis Mission Specialist, Logistics 800-728-7228, ext. 5274 bridgette.lewis@pcusa.org Champaka Srinivasan Mission Specialist, Finance 800-728-7228, ext. 5164 champaka.srinivasan@pcusa.org e Rev. Richard Williams Coordinator 800-728-7228, ext. 5539 richard.williams@pcusa.org YAV Staff Katie Rhodes Our staff, left to right: Champaka Srinivasan, Lydia Kim, Blake Collins, Bridgette Lewis and Richard Williams; not pictured, Lynne Foreman

Articles in this issue

Links on this page

view archives of Mission Crossroads - SPR 2018